2000 class Power Car No. 2006

Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

Broad Gauge


Class operators: State Transport Authority/TransAdelaide/Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

Model: 2000 Class

Built by: Comeng

Number in class: 12

Number series: 2001 to 2012

Height: 4.27m

Length (over coupling points): 25.5m

Width: 3.18m

Engine type: 2x turbocharged Cummins six cylinder underfloor diesel engines

Horsepower: 390 kW (520 horsepower) per engine

Total Weight: 68 tonnes (67 long tons; 75 short tons)

Entered service: 17th November 1980

Maximum Speed: 140 km/h (87 mph) (conservative) but limited to 90 km/h (56 mph) in service

Provenance: DPTI

Seating capacity: 64

Withdrawn: August 2015

Condemned: August 2015

Entered the museum: 10th July 2016

Condition: Excellent

Ownership: Port Dock Station Railway Trust


The 2000 - 2100 class are diesel hydraulic railcars and trailer cars that were built for the then State Transport Authority (STA) by Comeng, for use on the Adelaide metropolitan rail network. The 2000- 2100 class railcars were the first modern suburban railcars in South Australia, and the second in Australia to feature air conditioning, semi-automatic side doors and a PA address system. They were also the last diesel hydraulic type railcars built for a railway operating in South Australia.

The stainless steel body shell of the 2000 - 2100 class railcars was based on the American Budd SPV-2000, Metroliner and Amfleet car designs. The body shells were built by Comeng, in Granville New South Wales, and were railed to their Adelaide plant at Dry Creek for fitting out internally, except for prototype cars 2001 and 2101 which were completed in New South Wales.

The first power car (2001) entered service on the 22nd February 1980 and the last power car (2012) entered service on the 18th August 1981.

The class was dubbed ‘Supertrains’ by the media and the general public, but most railway staff and railway enthusiasts were quick to give them their more iconic nickname ‘Jumbos’. The 2000 - 2100 class railcars earnt this nickname due to their unique raised driving cab, which was very similar in principle to a Boeing 747 Jumbo aircraft.

The 12 2000 class power cars were originally built with two V12 MAN turbocharged diesel engines. These original diesel engines proved to be poor performers and were replaced by two Cummins turbocharged six cylinder diesel engines. The railcars were usually operated a two-car set (power car-trailer car) or three-car set (trailer car-power car-trailer car) configurations.

In the mid to late 2000s two 2000 class power cars (2003 and 2006) were refurbished internally and mechanically. From 2010 onwards a large percentage of the 2000 class power cars received the new Adelaide Metro Livery. In February 2014 the 2000 and 2100 railcars were no longer permitted to operate on the Belair and Seaford lines due to electrification of that part of the system. They were formally retired in August 2015. Two power cars and two trailers were preserved, with the remainder of the fleet being scrapped in June 2016.

2000 class power car 2006 entered service on the 17th November 1980 and was withdrawn from service in 2015. During 2007 power car 2006 was refurbished inside and out, and was one of two power cars to be so treated. In June 2016 the Department for Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (DPTI) kindly donated cars 2006 and 2112 to the Museum.

Visit the NRM

76 Lipson Street
Port Adelaide
South Australia  5015
Open Daily / 10am – 4:30pm





5-15 yrs & with an adult


2 adults & up to 3 children


  • Prices may vary for special events
  • EFTPOS is preferred payment method
  • Open from 12pm on ANZAC Day
  • Closed Christmas Day

Phone: 8341 1690

The National Railway Museum acknowledges the Kaurna people as the traditional owners and custodians of the Adelaide Plains. We honour and respect their ongoing cultural and spiritual connections to this country. We aim to respect the cultural heritage, customs and beliefs of all Indigenous people.

Go to top